Steinberg and Kirsch was founded in 1973 by Franz Steinberg as Engineering Firm Franz Steinberg. In 1982, a merger with Werner Kirsch followed resulting in the Steinberg and Kirsch GmbH, and with that in the beginning of an unequalled success story in terms of the development and production of shut-off dampers and control butterfly valves.

In the middle of the 1980s, Steinberg and Kirsch began to expand their portfolio with the design and optimization of double dampers with sealing air pre-heated by means of heating elements and heat exchangers. With the delivery as a complete package including the necessary fans, Steinberg and Kirsch secured a significant market advantage in Germany and across Europe.

In the 1990s, Steinberg and Kirsch served the steel mills’ demands for new technologies in the high temperature range of up to 1400° C and designed safety-controlled drives that prevent plant shutdowns in case of power outage and/or air supply failure.

Today, the widely market-leading control and gate valves from Steinberg and Kirsch are distributed by EnergieLink GmbH in Herne, Germany. Direct import countries include Austria, Switzerland, Sweden and Ukraine as well as Turkey, the US, Australia, Israel, Russia, the Arab States, and Asia.

Steinberg und Kirsch fut fondée en 1973 par Franz Steinberg, sous le nom de « Ingenieurbüro Franz Steinberg ». En 1982, la société fusionna avec Werner Kirsch, prenant alors le nom de Steinberg und Kirsch GmbH. Ce fut le début d’une success-story sans égal dans le domaine de la production de clapets d’arrêt et de régulation.

À partir de la moitié des années 1980, Steinberg und Kirsch élargit son portefeuille en concevant et en optimisant des clapets doubles à air de barrage chauffé, dont la chauffe était assurée par des batteries de chauffe et des échangeurs thermiques. En les fournissant sous forme de pack complet, ventilateurs compris, Steinberg und Kirsch s’assurait ainsi un avantage concurrentiel certain en Allemagne et en Europe.

Dans les années 1990, Steinberg und Kirsch répondit aux besoins des aciéries en matière de nouvelles technologies dans le domaine des très hautes températures, jusqu’à 1400°C. De plus, furent conçus des systèmes d’entraînement à dispositif de sécurité qui permettaient d’empêcher un arrêt des installations en cas de panne d’électricité et/ ou du système d’aération.

Aujourd’hui, les clapets et coulisseaux de Steinberg und Kirsch, qui dominent le marché à bien des endroits, sont distribués par la société EnergieLink GmbH sise à Herne. Son activité d’importation directe se concentre sur l’Autriche, la Suisse, la Suède et l’Ukraine, ainsi que la Turquie, les USA, l’Australie, Israël, la Russie, les États arabes, et l’Asie.